Political Drama in Karnataka for “CM Chair” Continue…

BJP legislature party leader B S Yeddyurappa sworn in as the new chief minister of Karnataka for a second time. The 75-year-old Lingayat strongman was administered the oath of office and secrecy by governor Vajubhai Vala at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan, hours after a pre-dawn legal showdown between the BJP and Congress-JD(S) combine at the Supreme Court. Congress MLAs and leaders gather at Karnataka Vidhan Sabha to protest against Yeddyurappa’s swearing in as the CM of Karnataka. The BJP has 104 MLAs in the House, eight short of the magic figure of 112.

The Congress-JD(S) combine enjoys the support of 117 MLAs. And approached the governor with a request to let them form the next government in the state with HD Kumaraswamy as the chief minister. They also submitted a letter with the signatures of 116 legislators to Vala.

BJP’s lawyer Mukul Rohatgi asked for the petition to be dismissed, saying the governor is doing his job and the court should not prevent a constitutional functionary from fulfilling his official duties.

Vajubhai vala has given Yeddyurappa 15 days to prove his majority on the floor of the house. The Congress also objected to the length of time provided to the BJP. Heavy police security was put in place to ensure that no untoward incident occurs on the occasion.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanks the people of Karnataka for “steadfastly supporting BJP’s development agenda”.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah submits his resignation to the Governor of Karnataka. The people of the state have defeated the Siddaramaiah government and the last five years of Congress government under him. He lost himeself from Chamundeshwari constituency: BS Yeddyurappa.

  • BJP- 104
  • CONGRESS- 78
  • JD(S)+- 38
  • OTHERS- 2

Releated Post